42 responses

  1. Joshua
    April 14, 2011

    Hey Tim! Thanks for the review. What are the commission rates for the Infinity Futures platform? I’ve been looking for a low commission rate platform for a while because the rate on the thinkorswim platform is way too expensive. Thanks again!

    • Tim Racette
      April 15, 2011

      Thinkorswim starts you off very high for futures commission. On top of that they don’t actually place resting orders on the exchange they sit in house so speed is an issue and there is a lot of slippage, especially on market orders. Not to bash Thinkorswim, they just don’t emphasize their futures business, options are their forte.

      That being said Infinity is lightning fast, best data feed I’ve found aside of TT or CQG that charges hefty monthly fees in comparison to the incremental speed difference, which in my case doesn’t make much of a different. For the ES Infinity started me around $5.00/rt, but over the years Anthony, my broker, has substantially lowered my comm.

      I can’t guarantee that the same will happen for you, but down the road as you increase size they will work with you. In the beginning don’t let the commissions bother you, focus on your setups and becoming consistent, but Infinity is definitely my broker of choice for futures trading.

      If you contact Infinity and ask for Anthony Giacomin and tell him you found him through me, Tim Racette he could work with you to find a happy medium.

  2. Keith
    May 11, 2011

    Tim,
    Just curious, have you ever used TradeStation? If so, what was your opinion? If not, would you ever consider doing so? Seems like both platforms are very close to offering the same features. Just curious.

    Keith
    thedailyeminitrader.com

    • Tim Racette
      May 12, 2011

      I have not executed orders through TS. Other traders I’ve talked with who use TS say good things about it. Once I landed on Infinity Futures I was so happy I stopped my search.

  3. Xiong
    June 29, 2011

    Hello Tim,
    I am new to future but have trade Forex and am debating broker between Infinity and Global Future. Base on phone conversation w/ a rep at Infinity there will be a quota to be met each month in compare to Global Future is not. What is your opinion for a person like me whose is still have a JOB and new to future market?

    Thanks in advance for your opinion,
    Xiong

    • Tim Racette
      June 29, 2011

      Hi Xiong,

      I personally don’t have any experience with Global Futures so I can’t comment on their pro’s/con’s. Infinity is fantastic, the customer support is great, and lightning fast data feed. I’ve never had issues and there are no monthly fees. If you ask to talk with Anthony Giacomin over at Infinity he will be able to help you more and answer any specific questions you might have. My vote: Infinity!

      • Xiong
        June 30, 2011

        Thank you Tim. I also want to express that I really like your video tutorial. It is really an educational.
        Again, Thank you.

  4. andrew
    September 20, 2011

    Hello,

    Been through most of the site so far. Good stuff and congrats on the trading FT.
    After exploring some platforms, was inquiring about APEX Futures. Apparently, they were a part of Infinity. There dom seemed real simplistic as I had some troubles placing orders and the “stay on top” window functioning with infinity.
    Also, do you need an account on TOS in order to gain access to the live tick and trin data?

    Thanks.

    • Tim Racette
      September 20, 2011

      Thanks Andrew. Now with the merge for TDAmeritrade and Thinkorswim you will need a live account to get accurate data. If you don’t want to transfer any existing accounts you may have over to Thinkorswim you could open an IRA and gain access to the platform. I don’t think there are minimum funding requirements for an IRA. Otherwise I know TradeStation and various other platforms offer tick data as well.

  5. T Allen
    November 3, 2011

    Tim

    This is great dialogue and very helpful. I am very new to live trading and fairly new at even demo trading. I have a TOS Platform and you have convinced me to try Infinity out.

    It takes a lot of time to check out a platform so it is good to have a word about it from a real trader before investing time to learn something new. It sounds like infinity will be worth the effort.

    • Tim Racette
      November 3, 2011

      A transformer blew this morning triggering a power surge. I was in a 6E short position at the time. Since Infinity places their orders on the exchange servers they remained in place even though I lost power. I immediately called broker, Anthony Giacomin, he picked up on the 2nd ring and verified that my target had been hit on the position and I was out of the trade. My account was safe. Can’t beat that, exceptional customer service and lightning fast data feed.

  6. Keith
    November 3, 2011

    Ya, well, that is a good thing……a true test of a broker!

    Keith
    thedailyeminitrader.com

  7. T Allen
    November 10, 2011

    Hi Tim

    I have been trading the demo for about one week now and love it. Actually, I like the charts that Infinity provides as well.

    Anthony Giacomin has been top notch on answering questions and being accessible.

    I have now opened and funded an account with Infinity. Thanks for pointing me to this great broker.

  8. TOS user
    December 7, 2011

    I am a Think or Swim user and did not know that they kept their orders in-house. Can you elaborate further on this as far as the mechanics and ramifications and how significant this is to traders?

    So far, I like the platform itself but I have also noticed a few times when I am looking at various daily charts that an entire day or sometimes days will be randomly missing and that gives me pause in the accuracy of the data…especially when I am learning that their $7 roundturn cost is on the higher side.

    • Tim Racette
      December 8, 2011

      I too like TOS charts and use them daily in my trading, but I don’t use Thinkorswim for Futures trading. When I first started trading futures I used TOS because I was already using them for options and stock transactions. $7 a round turn is way too high to pay for commission. I also experienced an exorbitant amount of slippage when exiting positions. I don’t the exact order routing structure at TOS, but when I called a few years ago they said they house their orders on their serves so it takes longer to get it to the exchange (micro-seconds) but it makes a difference. Especially trading size. Since switching to Infinity for order execution I rarely see slippage.

  9. TOS user
    December 8, 2011

    Have you noticed quirky things with the TOS charts about missing days? Not sure if you look at many futures markets besides the emini.

    But, take today for example in the emini. TOS shows a high of 1266 and other sources show the emini trading up to 1272.

    I find this lack of data agreement to be disconcerting.

    • Tim Racette
      December 8, 2011

      Is it possible you are looking at two different contract months? Today is Futures Rollover so most platforms will default to the new month. For example on the Emini S&P you have both the December contract ESZ1 and the March contract ESH2 trading. I’ve never seen any type of price discrepency like you mentioned before.

  10. TOS user
    December 8, 2011

    Tim:

    It is exactly possible that I would do something that moronic. LOL. I typed in /ES instead of /ESZ1 and didn’t realize that they rolled the contract over on me. My apologies for wasting your time.

    • Tim Racette
      December 8, 2011

      No worries :) Futures Rollover is always a bit tricky.

  11. Bart
    December 15, 2011

    Hello Tim,
    it might be a very dumb question but do i pay commissions over aswell the buy and the sell of contract or only over the buy.
    Lets say i bought 10 contract and sold than at the same price. Do i pay 10*comission per contract or 20*commissionsper contract?

    • Tim Racette
      December 15, 2011

      Not at all Bart. If your commission is say $2.50 per side, that means you would pay $2.50 when you buy and $2.50 when you sell or $5.00 r/t (round turn). Doesn’t matter the price you buy or sell for, when you get in you pay, when you get out, you pay. Another reason adopting a scalping method is difficult for the smaller trader.

  12. Bart
    December 15, 2011

    Ow im kind of embarrassed right now. I did some research of your name but you are kind of well known. Lots of activities around your name. Watched some interviews of you they are really useful.
    So im wondering if you have some advice for me. I’m young (first year of my bachelor) but interested in the markets. I have a infinity simulator account and a lightspeed paper account where i try some things out (but to be honest without a real plan behind it. Do you have some advice for me how i can handle the market?

    • Tim Racette
      December 18, 2011

      Hi Bart, I’m not big on giving advice, but I can share some insights from my experience. Trading is very difficult, especially for the retail trader with a small account. If you’re truly interested in making a career out of trading and don’t currently have any experience then one option would be to join a prop firm. A lot of firms look for individuals with certain characteristics, not necessarily trading experience. When I began I started on my own and stayed on my own and while I did learn a lot along the way with the help of some very successful traders, being involved in a prop firm with much more capital to work with can be a huge advantage.

      • Bart
        December 18, 2011

        Yes I’m indeed planning to join a prop firm or a investment bank after finishing school. But i can’t figure out how they trade at prop trading firms or investment banks. Do they trade longer terms (hold trades foor days or even weeks) or short term (intra-day trading) do you something about this?
        by the way if necessary you can e-mail me at fridjera@hotmail.com

      • Tim Racette
        December 19, 2011

        There are all different kinds Bart, a lot trade stocks intraday, but do your research and investigate a lot of different firms before making a decision. Also make sure to visit the office.

  13. Nino
    January 5, 2012

    Tim,

    What is your total cost to go with infinity? is it just commission and to fund the account? is that all i need?

    • Tim Racette
      January 5, 2012

      Yep, that’s correct Nino, I’ve switched over to Andrew Wlos at Infinity, he can help you get setup if you’d like a.wlos@infinityfutures.com

      • Nino
        January 5, 2012

        Tim,

        I thought you said you where with Anthony Giacomin ? and it seems to me like your affiliated with infinity. How do you know to recommend Andrew Wlos to me? I all ready was in contact with him today.

        Also , it is not clear what you are saying yes to. what is my total cost?

        Thank You

      • Tim Racette
        January 5, 2012

        Sorry for the confusion Nino. I was with Anthony for the past 3 years or so. He has sinced move on in his career so now I’m working with Andrew, that just means he’s my broker. As for costs, the only thing you pay for is commission. If you w/d money from your account via wire transfer you would incur the wire transfer fee, but there are no platform costs. Infinity does off charts, however I do not use them. Their charts are free is you make 10 (don’t quote me on this) round turn trades per month.

      • Nino
        January 5, 2012

        Tim,

        Thank You For your response. I am with thinkoswim and i have a lot “slippage” regarding my fills. i am looking for a better Fill based broker to make my trades. Is this what i am looking for(ininity)? or do you recommend another broker or platform?

        Thank You
        Nino

      • Tim Racette
        January 6, 2012

        I began trading futures with Thinkorswim as well (I was already using them for my option trading). I experienced a lot of slippage which is why I switched to Infinity Futures. Once I switched to Infinity slippage basically disappeared. Maybe once or twice a month I’ll have a stop fill me for 1 tick of slippage on the Euro, very rare though.

  14. T Allen
    January 5, 2012

    Just for the Info … I signed up with Infinity when Anthony was there but he left before my account really was activated.

    Andrew has been very good in dealing with my account.

    Tim is correct – 10 trades per month and the charts are free. But they only cost 15 per month if you had to pay for them.

    It is true also, the platform itself is no charge and no minimum trade requirements.

    Plus – Infinity has great risk control features. They give you ample risk allowed per day but I had them even lower my Max Loss for the day so I would not get into a huge drawdown.

    No doubt, Tim’s info on Infinity has been one of the best things I have gotten from the blog.

    Good Luck Trading,
    Tommy Beard

  15. Maurice
    January 11, 2012

    Hi Tim,

    Thank you for this excellent blog! Last week I sent in my account application. Still waiting and anxious to get started live.

    I got a question. Brokers always ask if you or a relative or other person in your direct neighborhood works of have worked for any financial institution, broker, or so.

    Why is that? Do you know more when that is true making it an unfair advantage?

    Regards,
    Maurice

    • Tim Racette
      January 15, 2012

      Not entirely sure Maurice, perhaps a conflict of interest. I’m sure it’s just another paper trail if any illegal activity comes about.

  16. nick
    November 15, 2012

    Hi Tim. You said in your review that you can do one click stop/limit orders. Did you mean one click stop orders and one click limit orders? Or one click stop-limit orders on the DOM? If it is the latter could you share how you do that? I cannot for the life of me figure it out. Thanks for your help! :) -nick

    • Tim Racette
      November 15, 2012

      Hey Nick, yes you can do both separately and together. As I’m sure you know by clicking on the Bid/Ask will place a limit order. Whether or not you’re in a position already determines if this order will be a stop to close for a loss or limit to close for a profit. Whether or not the order is above or below the current price is a factor as well. In terms of stop & limit orders going in at the same time you can use a SIMPLE BRACKET or MULTI-BRACKET on the left side. When the box is checked and a position is triggered both a stop and limit order will go in at the same time.

  17. Jing
    January 28, 2013

    Hi Tim,

    You said you don’t use Infinity charts. So what chart provider you use and how is the feeding?

    Thanks for sharing.
    Jing

    • Tim Racette
      January 28, 2013

      Hi Jing, I use Thinkorswim for charts.

  18. Mark
    August 29, 2013

    Hi Tim
    I was wondering if you have ever tried Firetip?
    They finally made it a free low cost platform at Cannon, Champion, and BackBay Futures.
    It seems simple and quick with a new update coming out in a couple of months.
    I currently use TransAct (same as Infinity) but there is just something I just don’t like about it, but cannot put my finger on the reason.
    Thanks

    • Tim Racette
      September 4, 2013

      Hi Mark, no I have not. There are a lot of front end platforms out there I haven’t used though that I’m sure are really good. If you find something that works for you stay with it.

  19. John
    May 6, 2015

    Are there any extra charges for using Break even trailing stops, OCO, Brackets and ect……

    • Tim Racette
      May 6, 2015

      Nope, those are all included.

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop